HomeSPORTSSri Lanka, Eire fail to safe direct qualification for 2024 T20 World...

Sri Lanka, Eire fail to safe direct qualification for 2024 T20 World Cup

Australia, South Africa, England, India, New Zealand and West Indies have earned computerized qualification to the 2024 Girls’s T20 World Cup by advantage of ending within the prime three of their respective teams on the 2023 version of the competitors. Bangladesh will even function in subsequent 12 months’s version, on advantage of being hosts, whereas Pakistan have certified courtesy of being being the seventh-ranked group as of February 27.

Meaning Sri Lanka (ranked eighth) and Eire (tenth) are the one groups from the 2023 T20 World Cup who haven’t secured direct qualification. They’ll participate in a qualifier event later within the 12 months with the highest two sides from that occasion turning into the ninth and tenth groups on the 2024 occasion in Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka gained two video games on the event, together with an upset victory over the hosts, South Africa, and completed fourth in Group 1 with 4 factors – the identical as South Africa and New Zealand however with a decrease internet run-rate. Eire didn’t win any of their 4 matches and have been final in Group 2. They earned their spots for the 2023 World Cup by beating Zimbabwe by 4 runs at a qualifying occasion in September final 12 months.

The 2024 T20 World Cup would be the final version of the event to function solely 10 groups with the ICC confirming that the sphere will improve to 12 groups within the 2026, 2028 and 2030 editions. A brand new ICC Girls’s T20 Champions Trophy will launch in 2027 and can function six groups. The inaugural hosts are pencilled in as Sri Lanka, however provided that they’re able to qualify for the occasion.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments