HomeBangladeshMales's Below 19 World Cup schedule - Sri Lanka begin January 19,...

Males’s Below 19 World Cup schedule – Sri Lanka begin January 19, India and Bangladesh in Group A

The 2024 Males’s U-19 World Cup will kick off with hosts Sri Lanka taking over Zimbabwe on January 13. Defending champions will India will tackle Bangladesh, to start their marketing campaign the next day.

The 41-match event might be performed throughout 23 days in 5 venues, all in Colombo. The R Premadasa Worldwide Cricket Stadium will host the event opener, the semi-finals on January 30 and February 1, together with the ultimate on February 4. The P Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Membership, Nondescripts Cricket Membership, and the Sinhalese Sports activities Membership are the opposite venues.

The highest 11 Full Member sides from the 2022 version have certified straight, and 5 groups – Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, and USA – have earned their spots by means of regional qualification occasions.

“We’re thrilled to see the competitors return to Sri Lanka for the primary time since 2006,” Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Occasions, stated in a launch. “Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and Angelo Mathews are a few of the names that made their entrance onto the world stage at this occasion, and we’re sure to see this custom proceed because the drama unfolds.”
“Sri Lanka is famend for its passionate, cricket-loving followers,” Samantha Dodanwela, Event Director, stated, “and we’re trying ahead to giving them the chance to observe a few of the most promising younger cricketers on this planet over 23 days of competitors.”

New ‘Tremendous Six’ format for 2024

The ICC has additionally introduced a contemporary format. Whereas the 16 groups will initially be grouped into 4 teams of 4, there might be 12 groups qualifying into the spherical, as a substitute of the eight beforehand. The Tremendous Six stage will see two teams of six groups every, with the highest 4 progressing to the semi-finals.

Earlier, the second spherical consisted of the highest eight groups shifting into the Tremendous League – a knock-out format for the World Cup title – whereas the underside eight went into knockouts for the Plate trophy.

India are joined by Bangladesh in Group A, alongside Eire and USA. Group B consists of England, South Africa, West Indies, and Scotland. Group C options Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia. Group D has Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Nepal.

Every workforce will play two warm-up matches between January 7 and 11 throughout 4 venues. India, with 5 titles, are essentially the most profitable workforce within the competitors’s historical past, adopted by Australia with three. Pakistan have gained twice and every of England, Bangladesh, South Africa, and West Indies have lifted the crown as soon as.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments