HomeSPORTSLatest Match Report - ENG WMN vs SL WMN 1st T20I 2023

Latest Match Report – ENG WMN vs SL WMN 1st T20I 2023

Toss Sri Lanka selected to bowl vs England

England handed a debut to 17-year-old Mahika Gaur after a delayed begin to the opening T20I of the sequence in opposition to Sri Lanka, with the vacationers selecting to bowl first in a shortened recreation after profitable the toss.

Heavy rain throughout the day result in a delayed begin at Hove however the climate cleared up sufficient for a 17-over contest beginning at 7pm, an hour after the scheduled begin time.

Heather Knight indicated earlier than the sport that this was the start of a brand new World Cup cycle for her staff, simply over a 12 months out from subsequent 12 months’s event in Bangladesh, with Gaur probably the most eye-catching member of the following era. A 6ft 3in left-armer, Gaur was born in Studying however made her worldwide debut for UAE on the age of 12, and has impressed within the Hundred for Manchester Originals and with Thunder on the regional home circuit.

One other teenager, Freya Kemp, makes her first England look since final September, taking part in as a specialist batter after a again harm. However there was room for expertise, too, with Kate Cross recalled for her first T20I since 2019 after serving to Northern Superchargers to succeed in the Hundred remaining.

Lauren Bell was not thought of for choice and can miss the second T20I in Chelmsford as properly on account of sickness.

With slate-grey skies overhead, Sri Lanka captain Chamari Athapaththu had no hesitation in inserting England, hoping for some help for her bowlers. Sri Lanka chosen 9 of the XI who claimed a first-ever T20I win over New Zealand in Colombo final month, with Athapaththu’s aspect having earlier taken the ODI sequence 2-1, one other maiden success.

England 1 Danni Wyatt, 2 Maia Bouchier, 3 Alice Capsey, 4 Heather Knight (capt), 5 Amy Jones (wk), 6 Freya Kemp, 7 Danielle Gibson, 8 Sarah Glenn, 9 Charlie Dean, 10 Kate Cross, 11 Mahika Gaur

Sri Lanka 1 Harshitha Samarawickrama, 2 Chamari Athapaththu (capt), 3 Nilakshi de Silva, 4 Vishmi Gunaratne, 5 Kavisha Dilhari, 6 Anushka Sanjeewani (wk), 7 Inoka Ranaweera, 8 Sugandika Kumari, 9 Udeshika Prabodhani, 10 Hasini Perera, 11 Kawya Kavindi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments