HomeSPORTSIrani Cup 2022-23 - Mayank Agarwal to guide Remainder of India towards...

Irani Cup 2022-23 – Mayank Agarwal to guide Remainder of India towards MP; Sarfaraz Khan misses out with finger damage

Mayank Agarwal, the highest run-getter of the recently-concluded Ranji Trophy season, is about to guide Remainder of India within the Irani Cup fixture towards Madhya Pradesh beginning on March 1 in Gwalior. The match was initially set to be performed in Indore, however needed to be shifted to Gwalior after the third India-Australia Check was allotted to the Holkar Stadium. The Irani Cup recreation would be the first first-class recreation in Gwalior in additional than six years.
Probably the most notable absentee within the 16-member squad, which is but to formally be introduced by the BCCI, is Mumbai’s Sarfaraz Khan. ESPNcricinfo understands Sarfaraz, a prolific run-getter for the final three seasons, has been suggested eight to 10 days of relaxation for a finger damage he sustained whereas taking part in within the DY Patil T20 Cup in Mumbai. Sarfaraz is at the moment nursing the damage at a health camp organised by Delhi Capitals in Kolkata.
Agarwal, who’s seeking to reclaim his Check spot after falling out of favour in June final yr, is prone to be partnered by Bengal opener Abhimanyu Easwaran. Abhimanyu can be seeking to earn a breakthrough after having been a part of the Check squad in Bangladesh in December. Previous to that, he was India A captain on the shadow tour to Bangladesh, the place he hit two back-to-back a whole lot.
Sudip Kumar Gharami, Yashasvi Jaiswal, B Indrajith and Yash Dhull are among the many different top-order batters within the Remainder of India squad. Gharami and Abhimanyu have been sixth and seventh within the Ranji top-run-getters checklist with 803 and 798 runs respectively in Bengal’s runners-up end.
Solely two members of the title-winning Saurashtra crew have been picked: wicketkeeper-opener Harvik Desai and left-arm seamer Chetan Sakariya. It is possible Desai would be the second stumper behind Uttar Pradesh’s Upendra Yadav, who has already been a part of a number of India A excursions over the past two years.
The fast-bowling unit is well-rounded with Bengal’s tempo duo of Mukesh Kumar and Akash Deep becoming a member of Sakariya and Delhi’s Navdeep Saini in a four-man assault. Saini will likely be making a return from an belly muscle pressure he picked up on the India A tour of Bangladesh. Baroda’s Atith Sheth is the lone seam-bowling allrounder within the combine.
Two of the season’s prime wicket-takers, Jalaj Saxena (Kerala allrounder) and Shams Mulani (Mumbai allrounder), discover themselves lacking the bus regardless of choosing up 50 and 46 wickets respectively. The choice panel of SS Das, S Sharath, Salil Ankola and Subroto Bannerjee, as an alternative, picked Uttar Pradesh left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar and Punjab legspinner Mayank Markande.

A probable purpose Markande finds himself within the combine regardless of choosing up solely 22 wickets from seven video games is that the selectors are eager to provide probabilities to legspinners in red-ball cricket. Markande’s nearest opponents are Ravi Bishnoi and Rahul Chahal. Bishnoi performed only one recreation for Rajasthan, whereas Chahar did not play in any respect.

Madhya Pradesh, in the meantime, will likely be led by wicketkeeper-batter Himanshu Mantri within the absence of standard captain Aditya Shrivastava. A lot of the core group that gained the Ranji Trophy in June final yr has been retained, with Rajat Patidar, Venkatesh Iyer, Avesh Khan, Shubham Sharma and Yash Dubey all within the combine.
Madhya Pradesh, the champions of the 2021-22 season, have been initially slated to play their Irani Cup recreation in the beginning of the 2022-23 season. Nevertheless, the match was later allotted to Saurashtra, the winners in 2019-20, as they have been denied the chance to host the Irani Cup due to the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic per week after their maiden triumph in March 2020.

Remainder of India squad: Mayank Agarwal (capt), Sudip Kumar Gharami, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Harvik Desai, Mukesh Kumar, Atit Sheth, Chetan Sakariya, Navdeep Saini, Upendra Yadav (wk), Mayank Markande, Saurabh Kumar, Akash Deep, B Indrajith, Pulkit Narang, Yash Dhull

Madhya Pradesh squad: Himanshu Mantri (capt & wk), Rajat Patidar, Yash Dubey, Harsh Gawli, Shubham Sharma, Venkatesh Iyer, Akshat Raghuwanshi, Aman Solanki, Kumar Kartikeya, Saransh Jain, Avesh Khan, Ankit Kushwah, Gaurav Yadav, Anubhav Agarwal, Mihir Hirwani



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments