HomeBangladeshBangladesh recall Sodhi with a hug after run-out at non-striker's finish

Bangladesh recall Sodhi with a hug after run-out at non-striker’s finish

Bangladesh captain Litton Das recalled batter Ish Sodhi after quick bowler Hasan Mahmud had run out the New Zealand participant when he left the crease early on the non-striker’s finish.

It was the primary time {that a} Bangladesh cricketer tried one of many sport’s most controversial modes of dismissal. Sodhi was on 17 when he was known as again, however then struck three extra sixes in his 35 off 39 runs.

The incident happened within the forty sixth over when Mahmud disturbed the bails in his bowling stride as Sodhi was backing up too far. The bowler appealed to umpire Marais Erasmus who went straight to the TV umpire. Replays confirmed that Sodhi was nicely out of his crease as Mahmud hit the stumps.

Sodhi walked off with a smile on his face however as he neared the boundary rope, Bangladesh’s captain Litton went as much as the umpire to inform him that he needed to name Sodhi again. Knowledgeable of the gesture, Sodhi ran again to the center, ultimately giving Mahmud a hug.

Litton’s choice could possibly be seen as shocking contemplating the run-out on the non-striker’s finish was destigmatised final yr by the MCC. In March 2022, the MCC moved the wording of this dismissal from Regulation 41 (Unfair play) to Regulation 38 (Run out), to take away a number of the stigma round such dismissals.

“The bowler is all the time painted because the villain however it’s a professional solution to dismiss somebody and it’s the non-striker who’s stealing the bottom,” Fraser Stewart, MCC Legal guidelines Supervisor, informed the Occasions, on the time. “It’s professional, it’s a run-out and subsequently it ought to stay within the run-out part of the legal guidelines.”

New Zealand completed on 254 all out in 49.2 overs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments