HomeSPORTSAsian Video games - Neeraj Chopra leads Indian Athletics Squad

Asian Video games – Neeraj Chopra leads Indian Athletics Squad

World Champion Neeraj Chopra will lead a 66-member Athletics Squad on the upcoming Asian Video games. The Video games will get underway in Hangzhou, China from twenty third September. India can have the most important contingent within the Monitor and Discipline Occasions.

Additionally Learn: Asian Video games throwback with Jaspal Rana 

Neeraj Chopra expressed happiness over his performance at Lausanne Diamond League 2023 and will now turn his focus towards Asian Games 2023.

Aside from Neeraj Chopra, the squad additionally has massive names like Lengthy Jumper Murali Sreeshankar, Commonwealth Video games silver medallist Avinash Sable. The Males’s 4x400m workforce comprising Muhammad Anas Yahiya, Muhammad Ajmal, Rajesh Ramesh and Amoj Jacob can even be in motion within the occasion.

Neeraj Chopra eyes successive gold

Having received the gold medal within the earlier version of the Asian Video games, Neeraj Chopra is seeking to defend his title. The 25-year outdated is dominating the Javelin Throw circuit on the planet this season. He’s topping the Diamond League standings and likewise created historical past by turning into the first-ever Indian to within the gold medal within the World Championships a lot just lately.

He’ll look to hold ahead his type in China. Nevertheless he might be coming into the occasion after that includes within the Diamond League last, that’s scheduled every week earlier. Health stays a priority for the 25-year outdated with back-to-back tournaments. Within the Javelin Throw, Kishore Jena will accomplice Neeraj.

Murali Sreeshankar and Avinash Sable in the meantime have determined to decide out of the Diamond League last to deal with the Asian Video games. Each the gamers have received the silver medal on the Commonwealth Video games final yr of their respective fields. They’re the front-runners for a podium end on this yr’s version of the Asian Video games.

Efficiency in 2018 Asian Video games

India received 20 medals in Athletics within the earlier version of the Asian Video games. It consists of 8 Gold, 9 SIlver and three bronze medals. The 66-member Indian contingent will look to enhance the tally within the upcoming version. Aside from Neeraj Chopra, Tejindersingh Pal Toor and Swapna Burman are additionally seeking to defend their gold medal.

Asian Video games Athletics Squad


Javelin Throw – Neeraj Chopra, Kishore Jena

Lengthy Soar – Murali Sreeshankar, Jeswin Aldrin

Triple Soar – Praveen Chitravel, Abdulla Aboobacker

Excessive Soar – Sarvesh Anil Kushare, Jesse Sadhesh

Shot Put – Tajinderpal Singh Toor, Sahib Singh

Marathon – Man SIngh, Belliappa Bopaiah

35km Racewalk – Ram Baboo

20km Racewalk – Sandeep Kumar, Akshdeep Singh

10,000m – Karthik Kumar, Gulveer Singh

5000m – Gulveer Singh, Avinash Sable

3000m Steeplechase – Avinash Sable

1500m – Ajay Kumar Saroj, Jinson Johnson

800m – Krishan Kumar, Mohammed Afsal Pulikkalakath

400m – Muhammad Ajmal

200m – Amlan Borgohain

Males’s 4x400m Relay – Muhammad Anas Yahiya, Muhammad Ajmal, Arokia Rajiv, Amoj Jacob Rajesh Ramesh, Arul Ramalingam, Mijo Chacko Kurian

400m Hurdles – Yashas Palaksha, Santhosh Kumar

Decathlon – Tejaswin Shankar


Javelin Throw – Annu Rani

Lengthy Soar – Shaili SIngh, Ancy Sojan

Triple Soar – Sheena Nellickal Varkey

Excessive Soar – Rubina Yadav, Pooja

Pole Vault – Pavithra Vengatesh

Shot Put – Kiran Baliyan, Manpreet Kaur

Hammer Throw – Tanya Chaudhary, Rachna Kumari

Focus on Throw – Seema Punia

20km Racewalk – Priyanka

5000m – Ankita, Parul Chaudhary

3000m Steeplechase – Parul Chaudhary

1500m – Harmilan Bains, Deeksha

800m – Harmilan Bains, Chanda

400m – Himanshi Malok, Aishwarya Kailash Mishra

200m – Jyothi Yarraji

400m Hurdles – Vithya Ramraj, Sinchal Kaveramma Ravi

100m Hurdles – Jyothi Yarraji, Nithya Ramraj

Heptathlon – Swapna Barman, Nandhini Agasara

Girls’s 4x400m Relay – Soniya Baishya, Florence Barla, Subha Venkatesan, Aishwarya Kailash Mishra, Himanshi Malik, Jisna Mathew

4x400m Combined Relay – Soniya Baishya, Jisna Mathew, Aishwarya Kailash Mishra, Nihal Joel William, Rahul Child, Muhammad Anas Yahiya



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments