HomeBasketbalAiden Markram is South Africa's T20I captain, Temba Bavuma dropped

Aiden Markram is South Africa’s T20I captain, Temba Bavuma dropped

Aiden Markram has been appointed South Africa’s new T20I captain, whereas Cricket South Africa (CSA) roped in JP Duminy because the batting coach and Rory Kleinveldt because the bowling coach within the white-ball set-up. Markram takes over captaincy from Temba Bavuma, who has been dropped from the squad altogether for the upcoming dwelling T20Is towards West Indies later this month.

Duminy has been appointed on a everlasting foundation whereas Kleinveldt has are available in just for the West Indies collection for now.

Talks between their new white-ball coach, Rob Walter, and former captain Faf du Plessis in the meantime proved unfruitful and du Plessis was not included within the T20I squad. Du Plessis, who retired from Check cricket in February 2021, stays lively on the T20 circuit and was occupied with making a world comeback underneath Walter.

Markram just lately led Sunrisers Jap Cape to the inaugural SA20 title and in addition led South Africa on the Underneath-19 degree.

“I want to congratulate Aiden on his appointment as captain of the Proteas T20I group,” director of cricket Enoch Nkwe stated in a launch. “Management is extraordinarily acquainted to him having efficiently led on so many ranges. He’s a participant that evokes confidence and he has all of the qualities to achieve the position. We now have little doubt will assist take South Africa to the following degree.

“On the similar time, we want to thank Temba for filling the place so aptly over the previous two years. He has completed a commendable job throughout this era and now has a brand new position to fulfil inside the nationwide set-up.”

The video games towards West Indies might be Walter’s first collection with the South Africa group. “It is a squad that’s excessive on confidence after beating probably the greatest white-ball groups on this planet, England, of their most up-to-date collection,” he stated.

“I’m additionally excited to have Aiden take the reigns as T20I captain as he’s very acquainted to the setup and works nicely with these round him. He’s a participant that leads from the entrance and now we have little doubt he’ll take this group to the following degree within the years forward.”

South Africa’s T20I squad for West Indies collection: Aiden Markram (capt), Quinton de Kock , Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

South Africa’s squad for first two ODIs: Temba Bavuma (capt), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Tony de Zorzi, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments